Important Update on Coronavirus and our Response
TOTAL BURN BAN IN EFFECT FOR ALL AREAS SERVED BY PCFD#23
Good Morning!
Saturday, September 19, 2020
NWS FORECAST FOR ASHFORD, WA:
OVERNIGHT: Areas of smoke and showers and thunderstorms. Mostly cloudy. Low around 50, with temperatures rising to around 52 overnight. West northwest wind around 7 mph. Chance of precipitation is 70%. New rainfall amounts between a quarter and half of an inch possible.
SATURDAY: Rain showers likely and areas of smoke before 11am, then rain showers and patchy fog. Mostly cloudy. High near 59, with temperatures falling to around 56 in the afternoon. North northwest wind 1 to 5 mph. Chance of precipitation is 80%. New rainfall amounts between a quarter and half of an inch possible.
SATURDAY NIGHT: Rain showers likely before 11pm, then patchy fog and a slight chance of rain showers between 11pm and 5am. Mostly cloudy. Low around 48, with temperatures rising to around 50 overnight. West southwest wind around 3 mph. Chance of precipitation is 60%. New rainfall amounts between a tenth and quarter of an inch possible.
SUNDAY: Partly sunny, with a high near 64. West wind 1 to 6 mph.
Forecast Updated: 9/18/2020 7:54 PM | Last Retrieved: 9/19/2020 2:00 AM
2020 RESPONSES
Calls To Date:
TYPE 2020 AVG DIFF
Total: 243 191 +27%
EMS: 186 (77%) 139 (73%) +34%
Fire: 46 (19%) 36 (19%) +28%
Other: 11 (5%) 16 (8%) -31%
Total in 2019: 342 (0.94 calls/day)
So far in 2020, we've had an average of 1.00 calls per day
As of Monday, August 31, 2020
BURN PERMITS
Online Burn Permit Application
FIRE DANGER
Pierce County
HIGH
Updated 09/19/2020
Lewis County
VERY HIGH / EXTREME
Updated 09/19/2020
BURN BANS
Pierce County
ALL outdoor burning including recreational and cooking fires (except a gas grill) during this Red Flag event is prohibited until the Red Flag event is over as determined by the National Weather Service
Effective 07/30/2020 08:00 AM
Lewis County
Effective 2:00 p.m. September 8, 2020, the Lewis County Fire Marshal will modify and upgrade burn restrictions to prohibit all outdoor burning. Recreational campfires are NOT allowed at this time.
Effective 09/08/2020 02:00 PM
DNR Pierce County
Outdoor burning, the use of charcoal briquettes, and prescribed burns are banned on all forest lands within the State of Washington under Department of Natural Resources fire protection through September 30, 2020
Effective 07/28/2020 12:01 AM
DNR Lewis County
Outdoor burning, the use of charcoal briquettes, and prescribed burns are banned on all forest lands within the State of Washington under Department of Natural Resources fire protection through September 30, 2020
Effective 07/28/2020 12:01 AM
Gifford Pinchot NF/USFS
Effective Sept 9, 2020: Closure Order 06-03-00-20-06 temporarily prohibits the building, maintaining, or using a fire, campfire or stove fire, including charcoal fire or pellet fire in GPNF.
Effective 09/09/2020 12:00 PM
Air Quality
No burn ban
Effective 08/23/2018 01:00 PM
More Info: (360) 569-2752
Updated: 09/09/2020 04:23 PM by SRB
FOLLOW US
DISTRICT CALENDAR

Check this page for scheduled community events, training classes, and fire department scheduled trainings. This page will be updated as events are scheduled so check back frequently to find new training opportunities!

Community Events

None scheduled at this time

CPR, First Aid, EMT and Firefighter Classes

IFSAC Firefighter I Certification Course
Friday, August 7, 2020 7:00 PM - Saturday, October 31, 2020 5:00 PM

Pierce County Fire District #23 is holding a IFSAC Firefighter I certification course at Station 87 in Ashford from August 7, 2020 to October 31, 2020. The course will meet on Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays. For more information or to register, contact lester.sandstrom@pcfd23.org

Fire Personnel Drill Schedule

  • Saturday drills (if scheduled) will be held at Station 23-3, Alder.
  • First Monday drills will be held at Station 86 in Elbe.
  • All other drills and commissioner meetings will be held at Station 87 in Ashford.
  • *Bold drills are required fire personnel drills.

Events for:

DATE DAY LOCATION TOPIC INSTRUCTOR
JANUARY
01/04/2020 Saturday 87 Fire Department Christmas Party Matt Medford
01/06/2020
Monday
PPE/WAC 296-305
Lester Sandstrom
01/13/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
01/20/2020 Monday 86 OTEP - Hemorrhage & Shock Joe Koehler
01/27/2020
Monday
1st Quarter SCBA
Andy Sabo
FEBRUARY
02/03/2020 Monday 86 ICS/Incident Command Matt Medford
02/10/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
02/17/2020 Monday 86 OTEP - Kinematics & Trauma Patient Assessment Scott Beason
02/24/2020 Monday 86 Ropes/Knots Matt Medford
MARCH
03/02/2020 Monday 86 OTEP - Pediatric Trauma - Shock & Patient Assessment Ashley Walker
03/09/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
03/16/2020
Monday
Zoll X Series Orientation and Overview
Scott Beason
03/23/2020 Monday 86 Drill cancelled -
03/30/2020 Monday 87 APR Fit Test and Zoll X Series Data Transfer Andy Sabo
APRIL
04/06/2020 Monday 86 Fire Streams Lecture (Theory, Friction Loss, Hydraulics) Scott Beason
04/13/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
04/20/2020 Monday 86 OTEP - Soft Tissue & Extremity Injuries Joe Koehler
04/27/2020
Monday
2nd Quarter SCBA
-
MAY
05/04/2020 Monday 86 Wildland Fire Refresher - Part 1 Nancy Barker
05/11/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
05/16/2020 Saturday 85 Extrication Practical Andy Sabo
05/18/2020 Monday 87 OTEP - Cardiac - Adult BCLS, Airway, NTG, ECG Joe Koehler
05/25/2020 Monday 87 Wildland Fire Refresher - Part 2 Nancy Barker
JUNE
06/01/2020 Monday 86 Ground Ladders Lester Sandstrom
06/08/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
06/13/2020 Saturday 86 Train Emergency Response -
06/15/2020 Monday 87 OTEP - Head & Spine Injuries with Trauma Extrication Joe Koehler
06/22/2020 Monday 87 Water Rescue/Shore Based Rescue -
06/29/2020 Monday 87 Fire Streams - Practical Scott Beason
JULY
07/06/2020 Monday 85 Ventillation and Roof Operations Lester Sandstrom
07/13/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
07/20/2020 Monday 87 OTEP - Environmental Emergencies Joe Koehler
07/27/2020
Monday
3rd Quarter SCBA
-
AUGUST
08/03/2020 Monday 86 Initial Attack - Forward/Reverse Lay -
08/10/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
08/17/2020 Monday 87 OTEP - Skills Make-up or Open Topic Joe Koehler
08/24/2020 Monday 87 Pumps and Pump Operations -
08/31/2020 Monday 86 Multi-Company Operations -
SEPTEMBER
09/07/2020 Monday 87 No Drill - Labor Day Holiday -
09/12/2020 Saturday 85 Alder Dam Tour -
09/14/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
09/21/2020 Monday 87 OTEP - Chest & Abdominal Injuries Joe Koehler
09/28/2020 Monday 87 Service Calls (Lockouts, Burn Complaints, etc) -
OCTOBER
10/05/2020 Monday 86 Forcible Entry and Breaching -
10/12/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
10/19/2020 Monday 87 OTEP - OB-GYN Emergencies Joe Koehler
10/26/2020
Monday
4th Quarter SCBA
-
NOVEMBER
11/02/2020 Monday 86 EVIP Lecture -
11/09/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
11/16/2020 Monday 87 OTEP - Infectious Disease Joe Koehler
11/23/2020 Monday 87 TIC/Gas Meter/CO/Chimney Fires -
11/30/2020 Monday 86 Electrical Emergency Response -
DECEMBER
12/07/2020 Monday 87 Geohazards/Floods/Debris Flows/Lahars Scott Beason
12/14/2020 Monday 87 Commissioner & Operations Meeting -
12/21/2020 Monday 87 OTEP - Geriatric Patient Considerations Joe Koehler
12/28/2020 Monday 87 No Drill - Christmas Holiday -